Mistaken identity

My hubby and I went out to dinner last night. As I was taking my first bite, I looked up and saw a very stylish 50ish woman looking at me. She had come in with a man (her husband?), and a girl who called the gent, Dad. I didn’t think much of it. They were seated directly in my line of sight, behind my other half. As we were chatting, I kept noticing her looking over at me and then chatting to her husband. I thought that it was rather rude and mentioned it after a few occurrences. Then it escalated, her husband turned looked directly at me and then looked my hubby up and down. I have to admit that I was getting rather annoyed. I mean, they even strained to see what i was eating. I did not want to make a scene though so I didn’t mention it again. Each time the man turned to look, I interrupted a look that said, “what is she doing with him?”. I did ask my other half if I looked odd in any way. I considered the fact that they may think I was too old for my other half. Eventually though, we got up to leave. I glanced over that way and the woman smiled at me. In an instant I realized what had happened. She thought I was someone else and was cheating on my partner. I wonder what is in store for my alter ego.

Leave a Reply

